I’m Not Dead – Yet

Hey guys. It’s been a while. Sorry. I never intended to be one of those bloggers who randomly drops off the face of the earth and leaves the readers wondering shall I unsubscribe? is this blog dead forever or will it resurrect? (Is it worth it? Shall I stay?)

Long story short, life happened – I was in a car accident, my car was totaled, I have a concussion, and the doctor’s orders have been NO SCREEN TIME. So…pretty much everything in my life came to a crashing halt that 1st night of November. [I hope some of you appreciate my use of irony there.] … I’m still not cleared for active duty because my doctor is concerned over my lack of recovery progress last week when he allowed me to begin catching up on a little of my homework, so please don’t tell him I’m here. 😛 I don’t plan to stay long, but I did want to hop on just so you know I haven’t fled for good. Every week I keep hoping I’ll be better but then I’m not so…I might be back next week or maybe it won’t be till next year. Guess you’ll find out when I do. 🙂 I do have a follow-up to the Mental Health post almost completed and a very controversial topic on the agenda after that so stay tuned. Maybe I’ll be able to release it in time for you to sip with your tea this winter. 😀

And yes, other than the concussion I’m miraculously OK. I did think I was going to die but turns out I’m pretty tough to kill. Everyone says “Oh, I’m so glad you’re alive!” which, to be perfectly transparent, has been a little awkward because, to be perfectly honest… I’m not. [But of course that’s not really a response you can give HAHA.]
And before you start blowing up my phone with DM’s [which I’m not supposed to answer due to the no-screen doctor’s order], just chill, I’m not suicidal or anything. I just simply have reached the point in life where I feel that life is hard and very wearying at times, and that death would be quite an easy transition – because who wouldn’t rather be in Heaven in the actual physical PRESENCE of Jesus rather than down here where we are strangers and pilgrims? I imagine that Jesus gives nice hugs, and to actually hear Him say “well done, faithful servant” – I suppose it would be the nicest thing. Also I can only imagine the day that all tears cried would be tears of joy rather than grief and pain… so like I said, who wouldn’t want that?
I guess some people love their money and cars and comfy lives and friends and jobs and style and fame and who-knows-what, but that’s not where my purpose and joy in life is found. God is the only reason for my every breath. And with how hard this year has been for various reasons, well, living is a full-time chore sometimes; while singing praises around a throne all day long would be amazing [since I’d have powerful awesome Adele-like lungs that would never give out].

Anyway. So there’s that. I could talk a lot more about the last month or 4 months but I don’t particularly wish to face my doctor again on Thursday and confess I was blogging, of all things. So for now, I shall just hope your Thanksgiving was full of true thanksgiving and much less painful than mine [yay for “concussed” translating to me being headache-prone this last month]. And I wish you all a wonderful holiday season if I don’t make it back before the New Year. Hug your loved ones close, because holidays spent with family are a treasure.
… And can I encourage you to find some way to bring holiday cheer to someone who isn’t as blessed as you? If nothing else, buy a hot chocolate for the next homeless person you see and then tell me about it because I’m kinda obsessed with homeless people. If you invite them to join you for Christmas dinner and you buy them cute flannel pajamas then DEFINITELY tell me all about your new best friend, please and thank you.

Merry Christmas.
[many days early because I’m one of those humans who adores listening to Christmas music year-round and definitely soaks up every day of December lights and hot drinks and holiday cheer]

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started